World cup of hockey?

Posted on Posted in Allgemein, Swiss in the NHL


There will be a second world cup this year, as one doesn’t seem to be enough for the NHL. The NHL doesn’t want to take part in the IIHF ice hockey world cup and hosts its own world cup later on this year, with its own special rules and conditions. Switzerland won’t be participating during this tournament as a country, but there will be Swiss players participating. Who will be there for Switzerland and how does this tournament work?

After already two editions of the tournament in 1996 and 2004 there will be a third edition this year in Canada. The tournament will be taking place in Toronto later on this year (September) and there will only be NHL players participating in it. The tournament will be played by Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden, Team USA, Team Europe and Team North America (U-23 players). These eight teams will be split into two groups, which will first of all play in a group phase.

Group A Group B
Team Canada Team Finland
Team Czech Republic Team North America
Team Europe Team Russia
Team USA Team Sweden

From there on, there will be 2 teams from each group that advance into the semi finals, to play for the title of best NHL nation of the world. Swiss players will be participating for the team Europe with Roman Josi, Nino Niederreiter, Mark Streit and Luca Sbisa.

Take a closer look here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *